Write like a motherfucker…

Where would we be without Facebook?

Last week I was once again perusing Facebook, (a normal everyday activity for most of us right? Please say yes because otherwise I will feel so utterly alone.) when I came upon a post which caught my attention. I am honored to say that I have RACHEL THOMPSON as a “friend”. (I know you’re all wondering who Rachel Thompson is,) She is a fellow author and the owner of BADREDHEAD Media as well as the website rachelintheoc.com . Her book BROKEN PLACES is currently in the top ten on Amazon. There ya go, go look her up!) Anyway as I was saying, her post grabbed my attention because the first line asked “DO YOU WORRY WHAT OTHERS THINK ABOUT YOU?”

Uh,well yeah…but don’t we all? (Okay maybe not,) anyway I started thinking about the question, and why. (I don’t have an answer yet, but am working it.) I especially worry when it comes to my writing, Rachel has a point though, It’s MY writing, I don’t do it for anyone else but me. No one else’s name goes on it, no one else is responsible, and no one else should matter when it comes to my work.

I don’t ‘OWN my shit”, I let others in my head and then doubt everything. That’s bullshit!

I’m here to say that it’s time that I ignore the voices that say I’m not any good, I need to stop listening to those doubts. It’s about the story in ME, not anyone else’s. So why is that easier said than done?

Well because you don’t know what the hell you’re doing? You’re I don’t know what I’m doing. I didn’t go to school for this shit. But maybe you don’t know what you’re talking about.. There ya go, you didn’t go to school to learn how to be an author. You’re like everyone else out there who thinks they have the next great American novel. Now that’s not fair, I obviously know something about what I’m doing I am a published author.

Hm, is that why I don’t feel like I own my shit? At what point someone considered a true writer? So what if I don’t have a sales record like STEPHEN KING, or JAMES PATTERSON, I’ve had books ride on the top ten list for a few weeks. That has to mean something. They say to write the book you want to read, and by god that’s what I’m doing. So yes this is me owning my shit and writing like a motherfucker!!

Thanks Rachel!

Leave a Reply

