Defining success…for me, (A day in the life of a writer)

Once again I am pondering something…*insert PINKY and the BRAIN quote*. Today I am pondering what it means to be successful. If I go by the standard definition in a dictionary it means,

: having the correct or desired result : ending in success

: having gotten or achieved wealth, respect, or fame…  sounds pretty great doesn’t it? I mean who wouldn’t want to be wealthy, respected and have fame? I doubt that many of us said hell no I don’t want wealth, and respect pssh I can do without that too…and fame ha yeah nope don’t want it!

Do I have wealth? Hmm, well I income to a certain degree, I have a roof over my head and food in my pantry, clothing on my back…I have loved ones that surround me and support me, lift me up when needed and keep me grounded when called for. Respect…I believe I am respected, for the most part my children respect me, (that’s a good start I think,) That one is hard for me to gage…I don’t hear disparaging remarks about me nor have I heard from others that has happened, so I’m gonna say yes I am respected.  Now for the big one, FAME… nope not famous, I don’t walk down the street and have people stopping me for my autograph or asking for a picture. (THANK GOD…cuz I take terrible pictures.)

I guess success is a matter of what you as an individual values. Will I ever have a multi-million dollar home and bank account to match…most likely not. Will I eve be seen as a world famous author, with millions of fans clamoring for an ounce of my attention, probably not. And you know what that’s ok…

When I sit back, and look around I see success. Again it’s in the people that I have surrounded myself with, it’s in the respect those people give to me, it’s in the love I have. Can I stand at the gates of heaven and say I was a success…yes, yes I can. and at the end of the day that’s what matters.

How do you define success?

PS, That doesn’t by any means mean that I still wouldn’t like to be a best seller author! So please help that dream along! 😉

Leave a Reply

