My wish for you…(a day in the life of a writer)

Everyone has periods in their life when they wish they could impart wisdom to someone they love. And we do, whether it is given as advice or simply words of comfort. Either way that wisdom is imparted because we have experienced whatever it is our loved one is going through or we can see probable out come of some situation. Nothing screams louder than the desire to protect someone and shield them from hurt as the instincts of a parent.

One would think that as a writer I would know the words to say, the right combinations…but I don’t. (Even if I did I’m not sure I would be able to say them without crying.) Parents have specific wants and dreams for their children, and we tell them about them when they are small, but do we continue that as they grow and understand? Do we tell our grandchildren of our dreams and wishes for them? I want to take the time now to put at least some of my wishes for my children down now…maybe at some point I’ll tell them to read this.

It sounds corny and sappy but above all my wish for you is that you never feel unloved and unsupported. I will at times be angry with you, disappointed with some of your decisions, not understand your actions…but I will ALWAYS love you and try to understand.

My wish for you is that you never have to deal with a broken heart. It doesn’t matter to me what your age happens to be.

My wish for you is that you find someone that will support you in life, that will talk, laugh and cry with you. Some one that will argue with you and yes even fight with you, but that knows in their heart that even though you fight it doesn’t mean you don’t love each other. I want you to find someone that encourages you to follow your dreams no matter how unrealistic they may seem. It is our dreams that keep us going, that gives us hope.

My wish for you is that you find someone that brings out the best in you while knowing that you won’t always be at your best.

My wish for you is that you find someone that loves you as much as you do them. It isn’t fairy tales, that kind of love does exist. It exist through mutual respect, mutual support, understanding, mutual values…through the ability to look past your own ideas and an honest attempt to see where the other is coming from, what the other is trying to say.

My wish for you is that…as a parent yourself you remember the best parts of your childhood and give them to your child…remember the worst of your childhood and make sure YOU don’t give that to your child. Love your child and remember they are only young for a short period of time. You will only be her knight in shining armor for a short period. Don’t be afraid to hug and tell your child that you love them, that they are a source of pride for you; tell them at least once a day. What you tell them when they are small will form what they think of themselves when they are older.

My wish for you is that you always know, that from the moment I first knew of you, you had my heart. You are always in my thoughts, and no matter how old you are, you will always be my baby. My greatest pride and joy, the baby boy whose brown eyes sparkled as you smiled that toothless smile…the kind man you have grown to be.

Follow your dreams, follow your heart…life might now be how you want it to be at the moment, but it is what is supposed to be at the moment. You are learning lessons with everything that happens to you, lessons that will help you find and form the life you deserve, don’t give up because things are hard right now. You and only you have the ability to make your life what you want and the ability to make yourself happy. Above all…remember this always, no matter what, at the end of the day if you are happy those that love you will be happy as well.

I love you…

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

