On soundtracking

great site!

Kelsey J. Mills

At first I was hesitant to admit that Stephanie Meyer and I have a technique in common, but alas, I can hide it no longer.

One of my favourite writing techniques is to soundtrack.

I started sound-tracking long before I started seriously writing. When I was younger, I’d come up with stories based on the music I was listening to on long drives with my parents. I couldn’t read in the car without getting motion sick and I think it would be better off if I didn’t finish that thought. It was also a way to make country music bearable. As I got older, I would listen to music when working out and think “this would suit ___”, either a character or a scene or even a relationship between characters. I also would look up songs to help me get the tone of a scene just right.

My sound-tracking process…

View original post 269 more words

Leave a Reply

