The true heralding of the season…

In a few days it will be Thanksgiving Day.

Thanksgiving…what does it mean to you? Is it the turkey dinner that will be gracing our tables, the football games that will be played that day? Or is it something more meaningful? A time to sit back and truly acknowledge our blessings and all that we have. Not to be to corny but, for me it IS a time to be give thanks for the good things in my life, for the people I am surrounded by, for the family and friends that even though they drive me crazy at times I am blessed to have. I have a nice home, a wonderful woman who stands beside me and supports me in everything, she is my best-friend, the one that knows me like no one else…all my hopes and dreams, my deepest fears; I have three wonderful sons who never cease to make me proud one moment and drive me to want to pull my hair out the next. I have two sisters that make me laugh and cry, give me their shoulders to cry on or lean on when I need, who encourage me and celebrate my successes with me, and cry with me through my failures. I have fantastic nieces and nephews, and an amazing grand daughter…we ALL for the most part get along, love and support one another and like everyone else out there we have our moments of dysfunction, we aren’t perfect but we’re family. For that I am thankful. I have a ‘small’ writing career, with honest to god fans…I am thankful for that, these are just a few of my blessings.

Thanksgiving for me also signals the arrival of the Christmas season, and all the craziness that goes along with it! It means that already the boxes of decorations have come out of their hiding place and are ready to be gone through. I KNOW without a doubt that the season has arrived by the fact that yesterday afternoon my wonderful wife had our living-room torn apart and me hauling out the Christmas tree in preparation for Friday, which is decorating day.

The tree is up, ready for the stings of lights that will be stung, and all the tree decorations that will be hung…and the arrival of the demon kitten! Yes it is that time of year.

Life with cats is an adventure I discovered. Last year I blogged about how I became a kitty parent, (one of those package deals you know… I have a dog and three kids and we’re a package; well that’s ok because I have two cats and we’re a package.  It’s a toss up as to who got the better part of that package, my wife or I…I mean three kids that’s tough…BUT um two cats, just sayin’) Of the two original cats we only have one, and last year around this time we added the ‘demon kitten’ which is where I discovered the joys of being a kitty parent! With the arrival of the Christmas tree last year said kitten found a new hiding place which provided all the necessary requirements for sneak attacks. ( I know some of you will remember the stories.) This year I am bless with the fact that so far he has only realized the hiding place is good for napping. I’m sure the attacks are coming though.

Please don’t think that I’m complaining, because I’m not; some of the adventures I’ve had with kitten are memorable. Tux, (demon kitten’s real name,) isn’t a head-butter like Tai was, which I truly miss. Tux however is a kisser. When we first got Tux he was of course a tiny little thing, and well he had a cold, which only aided in his being spoiled by my wife. She will say that she only held him in her sweater next to her heart because it helped keep him warm… (it had nothing to do with the fact that he was a baby and cute and cuddly and all that.) Well with a tiny sick baby lying on your chest napping it is only natural that you kiss his tiny head right? Of course it is, and well baby kittens that are lying on you will look up to see what your doing when you touch his tiny head with your mouth…and my wife doesn’t know how to just drop one kiss it has to be four or eight; so she would inevitably end up kissing his nose. Tux grew up understanding that affection equates to nose and mouth contact, along with snuggling and scratching of the ears…his not yours…ours…mine…you know what I mean. Hence in the wee hours of the morning when he is in dire need of love, he will sneak up on the bed and up to one’s face and one is awaken by a fuzzy kitty face in one’s mouth. (Oh come on you know whether you admit it or not when you sleep your mouth falls open, end of story.) What is cute and even I have to admit it, is when my wife is traveling, Tux must feel that I am sad when I go to bed, and often I will wake up with him tuck against my side with his head resting on my shoulder sound asleep. Yes, these are but a few of the adventures I’ve had…we won’t discuss the times the fur babies have tried to kill me by weaving around my feet as I walk; or by jumping on my chest just as I’m at the threshold of sleep, causing me to believe that contrary to what my parents always told me and I subsequently told my children and grand child…YES there IS a monster under the bed and it’s just grabbed at me!

Indeed, what are my blessings this year? Everything I just wrote about, and for all of that I am truly grateful.

Now its your turn, what are your blessings?

Leave a Reply

