Maybe I’m getting sick…(A day in the life of a writer)

Once again it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything; that’s not to say I haven’t been writing. I suppose, once again life has a way of stepping in.

Last week my lovely was again out of town, so I was left to my own devices…scary isn’t it? Not really, I took care of the doggy, (heartgard cuz ya know ya gotta take care of that…) loved on the kitties, (I have to say, I do love when the kitten nestles beside me in the wee hours of the morning and nudge me so that he can lay his head on my arm. Maybe he does love me after all.) I also went to see the Doc. For the whole week before last I was dealing with a headache. Nothing serious…I mean nothing like a tumor or anything like that, just some sinus irritation that supposedly some MUCINEX would take care of. (Could have been worse…’sinus infection’ ick.) But I’m still not feeling all that great. I’m like achy, and tired, still have that pesky low grade headache just blah. Is that me being sick or the characters in my head running me around in circles?

I ask simply because, I can’t seem to focus on any ONE character. I have Luce and Rayne pulling me in one direction, and thoughts and ideas of NEW characters and storylines. Like how cool does it sound to write about a cop working cold case, or a first responder falling in love with a reporter after meeting during a crisis, or hell even the druglords half brother is griping at me. BUT who do I listen too? Can’t they talk to me at a time, in a timely manner, with clear thoughts and a clear line I’m to follow?  Apparently not, because I can’t get any of them to back off for any length of time.

And please, the idea of writing notes has so gone by the wayside…not that I haven’t…but that I can’t make heads or tails of the notes I’ve written.

Understand that I’m not an outline making fool…I write by the seat of my pants, with whom ever is dictating the story whispering in my ear. The last couple of weeks, it’s a series of voices with ideas what to say. A note here says, “The bluest eyes in the world looked up at her,” but what story does that belong to, Rayne has blue eyes, hell maybe the cop has blue eyes I DON’T KNOW…this other note is half a thought, dealing with a romantic setting and some song playing in the background…huh…is that Luce and Jess or Erin and Tony?? Better yet, WHO ARE ERIN and TONY? (I KNOW who they are…relax I’m not totally nuts…), but it is very confusing at the moment so don’t worry too much about it right now.

I need the Gods or Organization to smile upon me, and impart the wisdom of the skill unto me. Perhaps that imaginary file cabinet in my head with clearly labeled drawers and the shapely secretary that files all those thoughts…yeah that would work. (Honey don’t worry you’re the one that has my heart.)

*INSERT heavy sigh here…* Oh well, I suppose I should check on dinner and make some kind of sense of these notes….anyone have any suggestions…anyone… yeah That’s what I thought…..

2 Comments

  1. Seriously, mini-recorder! Carry it with you always! At the end of the day when you go back through and LISTEN to your notes, you will know which characters are doing the loudest talking then you can get your mind in the right story and get the book moving forward. And on a personal note my friend…………. see a doctor LOL.

  2. I could come over wearing a nun habit and slap a ruler in my hand as I make you write….Smack ya on the head if you think that’ll help…. Maybe we could take turns….

Leave a Reply

