Open the door, go ahead

DSCN8455They say that for every door that closes one opens. (No, I don’t know who ‘they’ is.) I do know that I am pretty sure they didn’t mean physical doors. It’s the whole you ‘gotta let something good to get something better thing’.

I know that most of us understand that, we’ve had to learn that lesson along the way and well some of us have had repeat it a couple of times before it all sank in. But if we look back at those times, we know we’re better off; we see the reason for all those troubles and the need for the change. But how does one help someone else see that, how does one go about gently showing a young person the changes that need to be made for a better life? Albert Einstein once said that insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different result.

I suppose this is on my mind because personally I’m struggling with watching someone I love do this, and wanting nothing more than to smack em upside the head and say “OPEN your eyes, and look…” (and along with watching them do this, I’m having to decide when I personally am done, or if I forgive past deeds and open myself up once again for the possibility of being hurt again.) UGH being an adult sucks!

But I’m also finding the same challenges in my characters. In theory I am their creator, therefore I should just be able to say okay you’ve learned the lesson we’re moving on. I can’t though, for some reason ( and I know the reason ) they want to repeat the same mistakes. Maybe they aren’t mistakes in the sense that it’s wrong, but take for instance Rayne Mathews. Rayne has everything she has ever wanted, she has a thriving ranch, a woman that loves and understands her, a beautiful child that the two are raising as their own; she has the support of the town folks and acceptance from them, life is good. And yet here she is, wanting to take off west. To the wilds of a small mining town in Colorado. (keep in mind this is way back in the late 1800’s and life wasn’t easy, especially for a lesbian.) So why does she want to take off and put herself in danger? The answer…I don’t know. She won’t really say, she tells me it’s because she wants a better life for her son and her wife…ugh, she’s gonna do what she’s gonna do.

Another character has struggled with addiction, she’s clean now, but she’s telling me that she feels that pull…what do I do?

There is always something better….isn’t there?

If you know know Rayne, get to know her story in  RAYNE COMES TO TOWN and RAYNE’S NEW BEGINNING. Available at Amazon and at http://www.affinityebooks.com

Leave a Reply

