Interesting question…

A couple of days ago I was perusing around the web an I saw a question that started me thinking. The question was: Do you allow them to influence your writing style?

I think it got me thinking because I had just read a review. Now as a writer I understand that you aren’t going to please everyone all the time and that not everyone is going to like what we write or how we write. (And yeah I’ve been told to stop reading reviews…but sometimes ya just gotta,) 

Anyway, ‘them’…who is them? Our readers? The muse that speaks to us, the reviewers? And whom is more important? My answers to those questions…in all honesty ME, I write for me pure and simple. The characters tell me their story and try as I might, I can’t push them…I can’t tell anymore or less of their story than they want me to. Yes the reader is important, I value them. The fact that they have invested time in reading what I’ve written, is an honor to me. I never imagined I’d have fans that enjoy the stories I write; the characters that speak to me, so that fact that I do, simply thrills me and I have to say thank you so very much for your support! I love hearing that people liked my book, that they couldn’t wait to turn the page, or for a sequel. It’s thrilling to look and find that my latest book is rated in the top 100 or top 10 in amazon. It means that someone likes it, it’s flattering who wouldn’t like it? On some level to me it means that I’ve arrived, ( at least for a little while and maybe at some point I’ll stay…where ever ‘THERE’ is,) Awards, being nominated for an award…totally awesome!! No doubt about it, it’s something that says people appreciate and think what you’ve done is good. And don’t get me wrong, I’d love to be able to say at some point that I’m an award winning author. Am I being naive in thinking that unless I’m true to myself it doesn’t really mean anything? 

Do I allow them to influence my writing style…how can I? If I allow everyone that has an opinion on how I write or what I write, am I being true to myself or the characters that are a part of me, that speak to me? Am I wrong in that??  I don’t know, what is your opinion? Please I’d really like a conversation on this…

Leave a Reply

